Monday, September 6, 2010

AFI and Green Day concert 8.31.10

8.31.10

Oh. My. Davey. (see what I did there?)

Oh. My. Freaking. Havok.

Four words: AFI and Green Day.
SO much fun- I can't even tell you how excited I was! It was my first show ever, and I LOVED every second of it<3
So, we left my house at 5 and arrived in Irvine, Orange County at around 6:30 where the concert took place. As we neared the Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, my heart went all aflutter. My dad dropped my mom and I off and we zoomed through the line to enter the premisis.
"Isn't it crazy that AFI and Green Day are less than a mile away from us?" I asked my mom, almost unable to believe it myself.
We passed by a booth that was selling merchandise, but we were so low on time we didn't stay long. Actually, we heard music play in the distance, around where the stage was and started running. It ended up not being any performing band, but only a CD or something...
We walked to our seats on the lawn anyway. For the lawn, our seats were pretty decent. We were as close to the front of the HUGE crowd as possible- one row from the fence keeping us from dropping into the good seats below.
7pm sharp: AFI walks out. It's pathetic, but a few tears began rolling down my face... They opened with "Medicate". Davey was bouncy and full of energy. My mom claims she never took her eyes off him. I kept staring at the gorgeous Jade Puget, but my eyes flickered around the stage to the other band members, too.

Man, Jade looked good...
They immediately went into "Girl's Not Grey". Davey's mic kept cutting out, but he busted out some crazy moves, like arching his back and a weird jump; And twisting around as he dropped to the floor. It was so amazing- better than any youtube video!
They closed after about only 40 minutes of playing and there was a break. Mom and I stayed put, otherwise someone else would take our spots.
Someone in a pink bunny costume with a beer bottle staggered out, acting drunk. It was hilarious. We swore it was either Tre Cool or Billie Joe Armstrong.
Bunny left, and Green Day came out after a while.
Oh. My. Freaking. Davey.
"I'm Billie Joe ******* Armstrong!" Eeeeee!
They opened with "21st Century Breakdown". The lights were spectacular!
"East Jesus Nowhere" was so much fun! Billie Joe "saved" a little boy with a black suit and red tie =D After the song:
Billie: "Can't leave this way... Nope, can't get off stage here... Can't leave here either... Looks like there's only one way off stage. You'll have to dive."
The kid dove into the crowd. =)
My mom and I were the most energetic people on the lawn... We were jumping around, screaming, clapping, waving our hands around, and having a good time.
They recorded a LIVE song at this concert! "Cigarettes And Valentines"
Billie and Tre switched drums and mic for one song.
We sang "Happy Birthday" to one of the guys on stage, who was from Orange County (where I grew up!).
Drunk people shoved us around, we shoved back, jumped around like kids, and had SO MUCH fun!
"I'm not done yet! You'll have to pry this guitar from my cold, dead hands!!!" -Billie Joe <3

Later, he said "The only way I'm quitting this band is in my coffin!"
Their encore was humourous. The stage went all black, but a flashing sign that read "GREEN DAY" indicated they weren't finished.
Everyone was shouting their name, and the lights came back on, and they were back =)
"Jesus of Suburbia" and "American Idiot" were great.
During "Longview", Billie had a girl go on stage to sing, but she wasn't great and was kicked off stage. He brought another kid up, who was better, and GAVE him his guitar!
After the show, I was exhausted, but didn't want to believe it was over. It was AMAZING!! I had just seen AFI and Green Day in person!

They were in the same location as us! It was... I can't describe how awesome that felt.

We bought an AFI poster and Green Day shirt, then left. When we entered the parking lot, we saw a black tour bus with people moving around inside, but the windows had such a dark tint, we couldn't make them out. My mom and I want to believe it was Green Day, so yeah. I waved, just in case. =D I can still hardly believe I saw AFI and Green Day in person...
I went straight to sleep in the car.
Stayed home from school and listened to Green Day all day. My legs were almost unbearably sore from the sloped lawn, and my throat hurt from all the screaming.
The concert was SO MUCH MORE fun than I can even begin to describe. <3 <3 <3
(how many times did I use the words "amazing", "fun" and "so much"?)

Best. Day. Of. My. Life.